All You Need to Know About High Security Safes

If you have a question not answered here please use our contact form as we will be pleased to assist you in making the best decision for your requirements.

What are Eurograde Ratings?

Eurograde Ratings are basically security standards met by safe designers and safe manufacturers. There are 7 standards, the lowest being Grade 0 and the highest being Grade VI (6). What does Eurograde testing mean? Eurograde tested safes not only assures the customer that the safe has been designed and manufactured to the relevant grade, but also has been independently tested by a leading test laboratory to the Eurograde standard EN1143-1.

What is the point of paying extra for a Eurograde safe?

Having a Eurograde tested safe ensures that all leading UK insurance companies will normally cover the user for loss or theft of cash or valuables to the value designated to the grade of the safe used. UK Insurers prefer the most prestigous and reliable tests that are conduct by the VdS Laboratoriesor by by ECBS and the LPCB.

What value of cash can I store in a Eurograde safe?

In the UK the following cash values are recommended for each grade of safe – this should be confirmed by your insurer before you purchase.

Eurograde 0 – £6,000

Eurograde 1 – £10,000

Eurograde 2 – £17,500

Eurograde 3 – £35,000

Eurograde 4 – £60,000

Eurograde 5 – £100,000

Eurograde 6 – £150,000

What is the value of valuables such as jewellery that can be stored in a Eurograde safe?

At present, in the UK, one can store up to a multiple of 10x the following cash values of each grade e.g. in a Eurograde 3 safe you should be able to store 10 x £35,000 = £350,000 – this should be confirmed by your insurer before you purchase. Eurograde 0 – £6,000 Eurograde 1 – £10,000 Eurograde 2 – £17,500 Eurograde 3 – £35,000 Eurograde 4 – £60,000 Eurograde 5 – £100,000 Eurograde 6 – £150,000.

Are there different qualities of Eurograde safes?

Yes. First of all there are those that are independently tested by the leading Testing Authorities cuch as VDS, LPCB and ECBS and those that are either tested by less stringent testing agencies or are only tested by the manufacturer themselves. This does not always mean that the safe is necessarily less secure, but some UK Insurance companies may not insure your risk in all cases. Always check with your insurer prior to committing yourself to a purchase.

Why aren’t all Eurograde Safes Independently tested?

Basically due to the high cost of the testing procedure. It is not sufficient to have one size with a key lock tested – the testing authority may insist on various sizes with various locking methods and model of locks individually tested before granting a certificate of conformity. Only the largest of companies can afford this and therefore this peace of mind is reflected in the cost. IF IN DOUBT ALWAYS CHECK WITH YOUR INSURER BEFORE BUYING.

What is AIS Approved?

AIS approved safes are safes that are inspected and have had their test certificates checked and corroborated by the Association of Insurance Surveyors. This is an independent UK insurance body which is sponsored by leading members of the British Insurance Industry to monitor and maintain standards of security. An AIS Approved safe ensures that the design, quality and security of the safe meets the levels expected to european standards.

What is tested to EN1143-1?

In accordance with standard EN 1143-1, safes are tested by attacking for partial and complete access. With the exception of safes of resistance grade 0, the minimum resistance value for complete access is approximately 50% higher because a successful burglary attack will give the burglar access to the total contents of the safe. In addition, an anchoring test is made on safes with a weight of less than 1,000 kg in weight. Such safes must be properly anchored at the place of installation. Safes of certain resistance grades can optionally also be subjected to an additional test with explosives (EX).